Taavon Gamble

(he/him/his)

for
Eastern Chorus Delegate
 
"If we want to amplify all voices,
 
lift BIPOC artists, and put a stop to
 
anti-LGBTQIA+ bias, then those voices must
 
be in the room. I want to be part of the
 
change in reshaping our union, nationally
 
and regionally, into one that actively
 
embraces, welcomes, and protects ALL"
TAAVON'S MESSAGE

CONVENTION GOALS

ANTI-RACISM EDUCATION AND TRAINING

 

Our union should be a leading voice in the conversation and action on anti-racism training. Systemic racism and bias in our industry isn’t new to anyone, yet our progress towards equity and equality remains questionable. Proper resources must be allocated to develop anti-racism training that is available to all members. An education staff should be created that is led by an external expert that offers support, guidance, and quarterly assessment and reporting.

 

SEXUAL HARASSMENT,  BULLYING &  ABUSE TRACKING/DATA

 

The free and open nature of this industry recurrently cultivates in members being exploited and placed in environments with chronic abusers. We need to invest in a system that allows members to safely come forward with their complaints and allegations. This system would allow us to recognize and track repeat patterns that link to repeat abusers. 

 

PAY DISPARITY TRACKING

 

Following the lead of #weseeyouWAT, I agree with beginning a continued study of the hiring bias and pay disparity in our union. To eradicate these disparities that our BIPOC actors and stage managers face, we must show the facts. We need to publish a complete study analyzing the disproportions at which BIPOC members are paid to their white counterparts.

IMPORTANT DATES

Mon. Aug 17 - Distribution of Ballots (1st day to VOTE!)

Wed. Sept 9 - Deadline to Request Replacement Ballot (12PM ET / 11AM CT / 9AM PT)

Wed. Sept 9 - Deadline to Cast Ballot

(5PM ET / 4PM CT / 2PM PT)

Wed. Sept 9 - Deadline for members to be paid up in dues to have ballot counted

(5PM ET / 4PM CT / 2PM PT)

Thurs. Sept 10 - Tabulation Day